You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-07 12:05:58

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 338

[solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

Not sure where this should go, hope here is ok.

So i have figured out how to put xfce4 term below everything and be part of the desktop background but unlike tilda i cant seem to figure out of it can miss the taskbar? There doesnt seem to be a setting in preferences but maybe there is a hack somewhere?
I would use tilda but i want to see if xfce4 term can do it and im 90 percent there.

I have this in rc.xml

    <application name="xfce4-terminal" class="Xfce4-terminal" type="normal">
        <position force="yes">
        <x>0</x>
        <y>0</y>
      </position>
      <decor>no</decor>
      <maximized>no</maximized>
      <omnipresent>yes</omnipresent>
      <desktop>all</desktop>
<layer>below</layer>
</application>

Edit: updated rc.xml

Last edited by S7.L (2019-02-07 13:50:45)

Offline

#2 2019-02-07 12:36:39

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 338

Re: [solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

Solved, sorry for the noise but if anyone is interested you set it up like below.

I needed <skip_taskbar>yes</skip_taskbar>

<application name="xfce4-terminal" class="Xfce4-terminal" type="normal">
      <position force="yes">
      <x>0</x>
      <y>0</y>
      </position>
      <decor>no</decor>
      <maximized>no</maximized>
      <omnipresent>yes</omnipresent>
      <desktop>all</desktop>
      <skip_taskbar>yes</skip_taskbar>
      <layer>below</layer>
</application>

Last edited by S7.L (2019-02-07 13:50:23)

Offline

#3 2019-02-07 13:31:46

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 865

Re: [solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

Nice.

You can also run xfce4-terminal as a drop-down terminal.

xfce4-terminal --drop-down

Then left-click on the terminal to edit the preferences there will be an additional tab to edit the drop down terminal. Also a handy icon in the system tray to roll up/down the terminal.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#4 2019-02-07 13:46:17

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 338

Re: [solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

^ thanks, xfce4 dropdown! that is something to play with. I tried it and needs configuring as it loads up in the tint2 panel and seems to takeover any other functionality of tint2.

Offline

#5 2019-02-07 14:06:07

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 865

Re: [solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

S7.L wrote:

I tried it and needs configuring as it loads up in the tint2 panel and seems to takeover any other functionality of tint2.

I'm not seeing that behavior.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#6 2019-02-07 14:23:21

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 338

Re: [solved] Xfce4 terminal as desktop background in openbox

Its probably due to my settings for xfce4-terminal in my rc.xml.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB