You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-13 19:52:31

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Qutebrowser

Anyone else using Qutebrowser?  I finally managed to get it setup how I like today thanks to a dude at AL Forum and man, I am thinking about switching to it full time from FF.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#2 2018-10-14 09:43:58

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

i'm just glad they're hanging on, getting more stable and a reasonable number of users.
just re-installed it (last time, over a year ago, it was still a -git package in AUR, now it's in [community]).
reminds me a lot of the (now completely defunct?) dwb.
is it possible to get sound without pulseaudio?

Offline

#3 2018-10-15 05:35:31

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

ohnonot wrote:

is it possible to get sound without pulseaudio?

Not sure, I haven't looked into that.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#4 2018-10-15 06:23:09

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

^ i obviously asked that because on my system it didn't, at least not on the very first try.

but huh, now it just works.

i think i did a system upgrade yesterday, maybe that's why.

this is good news, might become my favorite minimal browser.

Offline

#5 2018-10-15 06:32:53

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

ohnonot wrote:

might become my favorite minimal browser

It's become my full time browser.  It's just too good not to use.  No RAM being eaten by FF or Chromium, currently sitting at between 4-10% usage.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#6 2018-10-15 22:11:48

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 327

Re: Qutebrowser

Hmmmm...looks like an interesting project to backport a newer qtwebkit from Sid to go with qutebrowser 1.5.1, also from Sid, to reduce security issues. It needs some extra backports, some of which are stretch-backports already, such as debhelper 11 and libbrotli-dev, plus disabling a patch for the newer qt-opengl libraries.

Offline

#7 2018-10-16 01:44:11

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 327

Re: Qutebrowser

I have Qutebrowser 1.5.1 backported and running on MX 17, but some of the dependencies were not simple backports. I had to disable the doc packages for qtwebkit5, for example, but who reads those anyway? tongue  That backport build also uses all your threads to build automatically, and at points uses well over a GB of RAM per thread, so my 12-thread 16GB machine ran out of RAM for a short time and had to resort to using swap.

Last edited by stevep (2018-10-16 01:44:31)

Offline

#8 2018-10-17 21:47:20

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 327

Re: Qutebrowser

Here's the Stretch-built packages for the new qtwebkit and qutebrowser, in case anyone wants to give them a try: 

http://mxrepo.com/mx/testrepo/pool/test … ource-src/
http://mxrepo.com/mx/testrepo/pool/test/q/qutebrowser/

Offline

#9 2018-10-18 13:43:20

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 102

Re: Qutebrowser

I just tried qutebrowser on my arch setup, not a bad little browser and i suppose would work really well in something like i3, dwm etc.


"Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate."...Voilà!

~ V

Offline

#10 2018-10-18 21:54:11

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

The more I use Qutebrowser the more I love it.  I'm slowly getting used to the keybinds and it helps that it is blazing fast when loading pages.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#11 2018-10-19 05:28:29

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

"loading" seems to imply that the browser is somehow making the internet faster.
wouldn't "rendering" be more appropriate?

that said, qutebrowser is fast!

Last edited by ohnonot (2018-10-19 05:29:01)

Offline

#12 2018-10-19 05:58:35

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

ohnonot wrote:

"loading" seems to imply that the browser is somehow making the internet faster.
wouldn't "rendering" be more appropriate?

that said, qutebrowser is fast!

I suppose rendering is a fitting word to use big_smile


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#13 2018-10-19 17:45:59

beaker
Member
Registered: 2016-03-06
Posts: 84

Re: Qutebrowser

This is great. Thanks for posting. (Seems to pull in a lot of stuff tho')

Last edited by beaker (2018-10-19 17:46:32)

Offline

#14 2018-10-19 18:13:33

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

beaker wrote:

This is great. Thanks for posting. (Seems to pull in a lot of stuff tho')

There werent too many deps on Arch (well 21, which isn't too bad I suppose).  Never used it on BL/Debian so not sure there.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#15 2018-10-19 20:20:12

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,389

Re: Qutebrowser

35 packages is what I got on BL/Buster. Then found I didn't like a kb-driven browser, so I purged it hmm (I tend to lounge back with a wireless mouse, so I would have to change the whole ergonomics of my workstation!)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#16 2018-10-19 20:31:31

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

I still use my mouse a fair bit with Qutebrowser as it has back/forward buttons on the side.  I can get why you wouldn't use this if you aren't hovering over your keyboard the whole time.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#17 2018-10-20 06:33:27

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

Dobbie03 wrote:

There werent too many deps on Arch (well 21, which isn't too bad I suppose).

mostly various python modules that won't take up too much space i daresay. that's good though; it means modularity.

and if you haven't used qt5-webengine before (e.g. falkon also uses it), that will pull in some stuff too i guess.

Offline

#18 2018-10-20 07:10:16

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,971
Website

Re: Qutebrowser

I haven't used qt5-webengine before.  Qutebrowser is my introduction.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB