You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-13 09:54:12

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 272
Website

Pikacode down and out?

I have been using Pikacode a little for a few years. There have been a couple of temporary service outages in the past. Now it has been down for more than a week. Anyone know what's going on?

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

#2 2018-10-13 14:07:31

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 102

Re: Pikacode down and out?

I know nothing of the site or contents but it came up as not secure on my FF browser.

Your connection is not secure

The owner of v2.pikacode.com has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website.


"Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate."...Voilà!

~ V

Offline

#3 2018-10-13 18:58:25

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

S7.L wrote:

I know nothing of the site or contents but it came up as not secure on my FF browser.

Your connection is not secure

The owner of v2.pikacode.com has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website.

Yes, that I know too and it does not respond to GIT calls at all.

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

#4 2018-10-14 09:54:38

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

that security thing happens more and more often.
it usually means that the site maintainer did not renew their certifcate, and i am more and more inclined to think that browsers demanding a $$$ certificate for each and every https site isn't really a security feature at all.
sorry for the rant; i kept it short.

after adding a security exception i can see the site alright, browse it and everything. no problem.
what do you mean by "it does not respond to git calls"?
does it otherwise work for you now?

Offline

#5 2018-10-14 13:47:35

S7.L
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 102

Re: Pikacode down and out?

^ If there is a problem with the certificate for use with https, possibly its just outdated and as you say a fee will correct the situation? I would hope that https is a security feature ohnonot.

I know with github you can use git via ssh so perhaps this website you can only use https for git calls?

Last edited by S7.L (2018-10-14 14:27:29)


"Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate."...Voilà!

~ V

Offline

#6 2018-10-14 19:23:47

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

ohnonot wrote:

what do you mean by "it does not respond to git calls"?
does it otherwise work for you now?

Here is the error message I get from GIT when I try to get the latest version of one of my repos at Picakode:

fatal: unable to access 'https://v2.pikacode.com/Stinky/Orgfiler.git/': server certificate verification failed. CAfile: /etc/ssl/certs/ca-certificates.crt CRLfile: none

Which makes it pretty useless.

As I have already written, this has happened a few times in the past but then it lasted at most a couple of days. This time it is weeks.

I hoped someone here knew what was going on.

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

#7 2018-10-15 05:00:11

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

Martin wrote:

I hoped someone here knew what was going on.

i already told you:
the site maintainer forgot to renew their certificate (or doesn't bother anymore because they have the same opinions about it as me). you could drop them a note and ask.
but it's usually harmless, if it weren't for all the major browsers contributing to the "you aren't safe!" scare.
just add a permanent security exception.

as for git:
i'm sure it has a command line switch to ignore that.
maybe even make it a permanent setting for that repo.

btw, are you using that site for your git repos?

Offline

#8 2018-10-15 06:42:01

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

ohnonot wrote:

as for git:
i'm sure it has a command line switch to ignore that.
maybe even make it a permanent setting for that repo.

btw, are you using that site for your git repos?

Yes, but mostly just for learning the ropes -- trying them out rather. The only 'useful' code so far is a handfull of scripts that make it possible for me to create video overlays from GPS data. Very primitive so far.

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

#9 2018-10-15 20:21:51

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,201
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

Martin wrote:

Yes

ok, just fyi there's a few more options if you want to get away from github/lab.
look at my signature.

Offline

#10 2018-10-16 06:27:49

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Pikacode down and out?

ohnonot wrote:
Martin wrote:

Yes

ok, just fyi there's a few more options if you want to get away from github/lab.
look at my signature.

Thanks, I will check them out when I get back from work.

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB