You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-28 21:52:14

Anaconda
crypto-anarchist

Getting fit at 56

I was once so fit that a doctor and a nurse on separate unrelated occasions asked me if I was a professional athlete. That was in my 20's and 30's. After about age 42 I started to let myself go and eventually (this past winter) I ended up a 240 pound flabby lump of laziness. A few months ago I decided it was time to do something about that.

It started pretty simple. Back in February I started walking a little and cut back on chocolate bars and other garbage. I stopped gaining weight and even lost a little. Very slowly at first. Then April the 8th I got my old mountain bike out of the shed and started riding. The first time out I barely made it 3 blocks from my house and back again. It was painful. I figured it's not how far you go at once but how much you do in a day, so I went for a second equally short ride later the same day. After a week of this I was able to ride a reasonable amount and kept at it.

Progress was a bit slow at first but by the end of May I was starting to do a bit longer rides and throwing in some hill climbing. Of the 40 pounds I have now lost, half of that came off in 40 days between May 27 and the first week of July. Wow 1/2 pound per day. I seem to have leveled off at 200 pounds for now and still have some flab around my middle and it seems like the rest is going to take more work.

Ok I did all that with only small changes in diet and much bike riding. Time to step it up a notch. Ordered a home gym yesterday. It should be here in a week or two. At age 56 I'm finding this older body of mine is not responding as quickly to the same kind of exercise as it used to but if I work hard enough I still get results. Not sure why the last bit of flab is so hard to get rid of but I'm working on it.