You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-10 20:40:15

jonboy

[SOLVED] Most favourite tools for shtf

So a couple of days ago i was messing around in hbcd and it said some of my header/sectors or some other stuff was miss aligned, so trusting something made for wincrap i agreed. This was the start of another 'wish i had backed up to a goat s##t', as some of my partitions was on a logical and others on a extended partition. I automatically copied all my raw data to a separate hdd, and worked on that. A lot of hbcd and falcon4 is great for windows, (repeat i am a noob at recovery) but can we have a linux version or is partition manager the one?

I managed to pull my ole'xp and my back up files of documents etc. Tried for hours to play with the raw data i had copied across with no such luck. Being a No0b at this, until i do it again, then forget the next time around how i managed to sort it out the last time. I thought i would tackle the main  hdd.
With taskdisc i managed to pick up where from i left off and with grub doctor i was back too booting in BL.
My question is when the shtf what is your main go-to disk/programs and should we have a new one for basic f##k ups?

Last edited by jonboy (2015-10-14 14:46:19)

#2 2015-10-10 21:09:35

damo
....moderator....

Re: [SOLVED] Most favourite tools for shtf

I make partition images with `fsarchiver`, especially before a dist-upgrade or something else which is major. A filesystem recovery is simple, since I can restore it easily using a live disc.

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

#3 2015-10-10 21:13:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

rsync & btrfs snapshots for backup, Arch live ISO & {gdisk,fdisk,parted} for rescue & recovery.

EDIT: Actually, the Grml live ISO is probably the best general-purpose recovery tool -- especially when loaded from a smartphone using DriveDroid